Larry Niven – Tales of Known Space, Reading Order

February 3, 2014 | By | 2 Comments

I’m a big Space Opera / Sci-fi fan, and an equally big Larry Niven fan.

I recently decided to re-read a bunch of Larry Niven stories from his Known Space Series, but was at a complete loss about the read order of the various stories, short stories and novels that encompass the timeline.

So, after a fair bit of research (before I found a great reference here), I put together a solid read order for all the main stories on the Known Space timeline. There is a bit of jumping around and pulling chapters out of certain books, but this is what I ended up with.

  1. The Coldest Place
  2. Becalmed in Hell
  3. Wait it Out
  4. Eye of an Octopus
  5. How the Heroes Die
  6. The Jigsaw Man
  7. World of Ptavvs
  8. At the Bottom of a Hole
  9. Intent to Deceive
  10. Death By Ecstasy
  11. The Defenseless Dead
  12. Phsstphok (from Protector)
  13. ARM
  14. The Patchwork Girl
  15. The Woman in Del Rey Crater
  16. Cloak of Anarchy
  17. The Ethics of Madness (start thru “2583.8 PLATEAU”)
  18. Interlude (from Protector)
  19. Vandervecken (from Protector)
  20. A Gift From Earth (novel)
  21. Protector (from Protector)
  22. The Ethics of Madness (“2583.8 PLATEAU” thru end)
  23. The Warriors
  24. Telepath’s Dance (from “Man-Kzin Wars VIII”)
  25. Madness Has Its Place
  26. Choosing Names (from “Man-Kzin Wars VIII”)
  27. Neutron Star
  28. A Relic of Empire
  29. At the Core
  30. Flatlander
  31. The Handicapped
  32. Grendel
  33. Juggler of Worlds (Chapters: “They” thru “Besieged”)
  34. The Borderland of the Sol (from “Crashlander”)
  35. Juggler of Worlds (Chapter: “Besieged”)
  36. Fleet of Worlds (novel)
  37. Juggler of Worlds (Chapter: “Becalmed”)
  38. Procrustes (from “Crashlander”)
  39. Ghost (8 sections from “Crashlander”)
  40. Juggler of Worlds (Chapter: “Betrayed”)
  41. Fly-By-Night (from “Man-Kzin Wars IX”)
  42. The Soft Weapon
  43. Juggler of Worlds (Chapters: “The Outsiders” thru “Epilogue”)
  44. Destroyer of Worlds (novel)
  45. The Color of Sunfire (short story published on
  46. Betrayer of Worlds (novel)
  47. There is a Tide
  48. Ringworld
  49. Ringworld Engineers
  50. Ringworld Throne
  51. Ringworld’s Children
  52. Fate of Worlds: Return from the Ringworld
  53. The Hunting Park (from “Man-Kzin Wars XI”)
  54. Safe at Any Speed


Category: Books

About the Author ()

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. dbuel says:

    You’ve done a great job here.

  2. Rohit says:

    Thanks so much for doing this.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.